For the Sake of the Song

I didn’t find Townes Van Zandt until recent years. I don’t know how he eluded me so long.

He is one of those exquisite animals. An incognito poet pretending to be a rock star. Slipping gems stuffed inside teddy bears around people’s airport scanners while they’re not looking.

I could listen to his words or music all day. He makes me want to learn how to make music to go with my words. All the best singer songwriters have that effect. Sting, Jackson Browne, Bowie, Leonard Cohen … the list would be ridiculously long so what’s the point.

Anyway I suspect that my song posts are more universally hated than cancer at this point, so I’ll shut the fuzzbuck up and post the damn song so we can all just get on with our dirty old lives.

I give you my favourite Townes Van Zandt song – For the Sake of the Song.:

Leave a Reply

