Sad Day

Jerome Silberman, June 11, 1933 – August 29, 2016

I suppose at this point it’s naive to be surprised or disgusted about such things, but still, I really liked Gene Wilder.

He delighted and terrified me as Willy Wonka, he made me wet myself in Stir Crazy and the Mel Brooks films, and I found his interviews courageously honest.

He could mix sparkly-eyed teddy bear cuddliness with sudden explosions of genuinely disturbing rage. If I remember correctly, he said this mania that people loved in his characters was borne from a place of great darkness inside him that mellowed with age.

Well, it made for some very memorable characters and golden moments in cinema is all I can say.

A real irreplaceable gem.

 

Leave a Reply

