Manhunter

I don’t have time to write a post about the whole film unfortunately but I just wanted to share a clip from Manhunter with you.

Suffice to say it’s a fiercely good film and the first in which we meet the Hannibal Lecter character. It’s an overused phrase but I think this film was ahead of its time and raised the bar for cat-and-mouse thrillers. I dig Michael Mann’s 80s Los Angeles movies the best. He was God’s chosen director for that particular slice of time and space. Alas success did not seem to sharpen his pencil any in my humble opinion. Though Collateral rocks it has to be said.

God damn I’m getting bogged down in my OWN post. This is ridiculous. Only I could do this. ENOUGH!

So this was meant to be a quick post to share this unusual clip. I won’t explain too much in case there’s any danger you’re going to see it, and for the love of God please do if you haven’t already.

All I will say is that the tall man with the scar has just started dating the blind lady and takes her on an unscheduled detour to a (presumably) zoo veterinarian so that she can feel something out-of-the-ordinary. Allusions can be drawn from this, echoing the film’s wider theme, but my lips are sealed. For your sensory pleasure:

Leave a Reply

