No Surprises

 

It seems like I’m

the kinda guy

who needs to know

the way to go

 

It ties these knots

down in my guts

if I get thrown

somewhere unknown

 

I need some time

to get my mind

behind the wheel

to breathe and feel

 

I need more space

to walk with grace

else it’s too hard

to drop my guard

 

I need a chance

a small advance

to clear what ifs

clean from my cliffs

 

to plan my moves

to burn some grooves

a program fed

into my head

 

cos otherwise

I’m compromised

when unannounced

surprises pounce

 

Unlucky mouse

locked in a house

where all the maps

lead onto traps.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

