Solveig’s Song

I once asked a beautiful Icelandic girl called Solveig to go out with me. It was the culmination of weeks of soul-searching, of carefully reading body language, of soothsayers reading my runes in remote mountain caves, and of several glasses of beer.

She said no.

Of course.

In my blistering fury I cast a magic spell that would render the Icelandic language unintelligible for all eternity. So that no man would have to bear the shame that befell me that day.

Then I unleashed Bjork on them. The rest is history.

OK that second part’s not true dammit, but I was proper vexed, I can tell you that much. If I’d had such a capability, my retribution would’ve been swift and terrible no doubt. But bereft of magic or skills of any kind for that matter, I turned around and walked away nursing my gang-raped pride.

This song doesn’t remind me of her in the slightest, but I’d have felt remiss not mentioning it.

Oy! Stop snoring at the back there – it’s rude! Yes you!! The spotty girl with the sour face.

Pearls before swine!

Anyway you Godless heathens – here’s your damn music:

Edvard Grieg – Solveig’s Song:

2 thoughts on “Solveig’s Song

    1. Oh no – I’m so sorry – I literally only just saw this comment. Somehow I missed the notification. Thank you so much for your kind words about my blog!
      I dig your description of the song like angels on lyres. I hadn’t thought of that but it makes sense now I think of it. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

