Pickle

Well I’m in a bit of a pickle here. I made a post a while back asking if anyone knew how my posts could still get likes since I disabled the like button. I didn’t get any feedback so have carried on regardless. But it was bothering me that there’s these “like” stars alongside my posts on the blog admin page. So I bit the bullet and re-enabled the likes to see if I could see any likes under the posts.

Sure enough, I see all these likes under my posts just as though the like button was still there. So even though there’s a setting to disable likes, it doesn’t seem to work and that’s still a paradox for me. Is WordPress broken? I wonder how people are even liking these posts. I went into my blog in another browser, like someone else would see it, and there was no like button. So what the jumping Jehoshaphat is going on?

Anyway I feel just terrible now seeing all these likes people have been giving me that I was oblivious of. That does not sit right with me. If any of you are reading this, I’m so sorry I ignored all your likes. That is not what I set out to do.

All I wanted was to take away the ability to like any of my posts so it removed the whole like reciprocation problem but people could still comment if they had anything to say about a post. Cos the whole like reciprocation deal was causing huge problems for me time-wise and OCD-wise. Not how I would like it to be ideally, but just how it is unfortunately. I simply don’t have enough time now to do it all. Not even the blog posts really so I hate myself every time I write one.

So I truly don’t know what to do now. I don’t want to leave the like button re-enabled for the same reasons I gave before. Yet I feel horrible knowing people are somehow liking my posts anyway, and I’m not seeing it, and they just think I’m coldly ignoring their likes. I don’t like that at all. So there’s no happy third option here and I’m stumped.

It’s messing with my head now so I need to meditate on it a while. I’m not even sure what to do.

I think I will disable the button again in the meantime until I figure out what’s going on.

Thank you again to anyone who liked my posts since I disabled that stupid button. I’m really sorry I ignored your likes.

Leave a Reply

