Empty Stage

Greetings from an empty stage,

refuge of the self-obsessed,

drop-outs from an empty age,

under-loved and over-blessed.

 

Stop a while and feed my muse,

drop a penny in my hat,

don’t forget to wipe your shoes,

on the best behaviour mat.

 

Validate my foolish verse,

hear it like I wrote it down,

lift this damned semantic curse,

take me to fulfilment town.

 

Tell me that you understand,

say I’m better than the rest,

touch me with a saviour’s hand,

pluck me from this empty nest.

Leave a Reply

