Shoals of Herring

Anyone who saw the much misunderstood and under-rated Inside Llewyn Davis might recognise this one:

It’s sung here by the man who wrote it – folk singer/song writer Ewan MacColl. Father of the the much missed Kirsty MacColl and one-time husband of American folk legend Peggy Seeger, for whom he wrote The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face during their courtship; a gorgeous love song later immortalised by Roberta Flack. I think it’s fair to say that is my favourite love song of all time, although the BBC did try to ruin it for me by using it in a stupid advertising campaign a few years back.

I digress, clearly.

He was politically active, attracting the special attentions of MI5 in the 1930s for his communist affiliations.

[[[ Let the record show that a pompous Tory spider just descended right in front of my face but,  being a hero, I refused to let it sabotage this stunning blog post and detained it ready to face trial in my kangaroo court once I’ve finished here ]]]

He was a big supporter of the miners during that harpy Thatcher’s war on the working classes of Great Britain during the 1980s.

He wrote over 300 songs some of which were recorded by famous artist like Johnny Cash and Elvis Presley.

Not bad Ewan. Not bad at all sir.

12 thoughts on “Shoals of Herring

  1. I loved the music in Inside Llewyn Davis, this one I didn’t remember but I lost my memory or the ability to remember for the last two years (having a child is severely damaging the brain!). Anyway, another interesting read, doubtpuppet! 😊

    Like

    1. There was some great music in the film. this one he sang to his father in the nursing home. It’s quite a good scene.
      Ah I didn’t know you had a child. Congratulations. I can only imagine the strain on everything, let alone memory!

      Liked by 1 person

            1. Well, I read one theory and then I ran with that. Basically, I think the film is one man’s repeated journey through purgatory, where he has to keep improving on his act until he gets it right, then he will be free.
              I just didn’t see it when I first saw the film, but when it was explained it was so obvious and I could see other clues too.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Oh, now you make me want to see it again… I think I felt really desperate after seeing it once, though. Poor guy, a prisoner in a world without any light. I can share that feeling, most of my life I felt that way- like a prisoner.
                Thank you for the explanation!

                Like

Leave a Reply

