The Right Stuff

I wrote this post a year ago on the back of a day of good news and celebration. That good news has since been cruelly snatched out our hands, and that is damn hard to reconcile.

Anyway I’m reblogging it today in tribute to one of my favourite actors, Sam Shepard, who died on 27th July, but I only heard it in the news today.
Go with God Sam.

Step Into The Nightmare

Earlier tonight, driving back along a straight unlit country road with a belly full of mushrooms and ale, and a head full of that gorgeous waitress who served us; Debussy’s Clair De Lune made a surprise appearance on the CD player. I’d totally forgotten that it was on the compilation of uplifting music I made for mum to listen to on the way to hospital the other day.

I turned it up and it sounded even more beautiful than I remembered, sailing through the darkness towards the soft-lit mauve tissue paper clouds waiting at the end of the road.

It was one of those moments you wish you could pickle and keep in your back pocket for a rainy day. Sometimes it’s the little unexpected things, you know?

Then, life being what it is, an unforgiveable moron dressed in jet black suddenly lept out into the road in front of me, testing my…

View original post 738 more words

Leave a Reply

